Home » News » International Day of Immunology Awards 2019
International Day of Immunology Awards 2019


  • 2019 Theme: about Cancer Checkpoint Blockade

Since 2005, IUIS and EFIS have been working together to involve all Regional and National Societies in a global effort to promote the benefits of immunology research during the International Day of Immunology (DoI) taking place every year on  April 29. READ MORE

This year again, Immunological Societies and Federations were invited to participate in the day and to submit material on their DoI campaign (e.g. posters, films, video, social media, email or regular mail).

International Jury:

Tatyana Chtanova, IUIS Liaison for the Day of Immunology

  1. Sunil Arora
  2. Manoel Barral-Netto
  3. Amel Benammar Elgaaïed
  4. Xuetao Cao, FIMSA Secretary General
  5. Stefan H.E. Kaufmann, EFIS Past President, IUIS Past President, initiator of the Day of Immunology in 2005
  6. Shigeo Koyasu, FIMSA Past President
  7. Laura Mackay, FIMSA President
  8. Emilio Malchiodi, ALAI Vice-President
  9. Ruben Motrich
  10. Raúl Ramos Pupo, ALAI Secretary
  11. Kiyoshi Takeda
  12. Gregory J Tsay



  • Deadline for application submission: June 1, 2019.
  • Decision of winner: mid-August 2019
  • Announcement of winner: end of August 2019
  • Award of the prize to the winner: Beijing, China, in Oct 19-23 2019 during the 2019 International Congress of Immunology (date of the Award ceremony to be confirmed)

Award Winners:

Award Winners will be notified end of August.

After deliberation, prizes will be announced during a special Awards Ceremony at the 2019 International Congress of Immunology, in Beijing, China, in Oct 19-23 2019. During the Ceremony, the IUIS President accompanied by the EFIS President will report on the best initiatives of the DoI and reveal the names of the winners.


Day of Immunology Campaigns:

The IUIS would like to commend all Societies, Federations & individuals that have submitted a campaign.

  1. ALGERIA - Faculty of Medicine, Kasdi Merbah University
  2. AUSTRALIA/NEW-ZEALAND - Australian and New Zealand Society for Immunology
  3. BRAZIL - Universidade Estadual de Goiás, sponsored by the Brazilian Society of Immunology
  4. FAIS - Federation of African Immunological Societies
  5. INDIA - Indian Immunology Society
  6. MEXICO - Mexican Society of Immunology
  7. IVORY COAST - Society of Clinical and Biological Immunology of Côte d'Ivoire (SICB-CI)
  8. CUBA - Sociedad Cubana de Inmunología
  9. IRAN - Iranian Society of Immunology and Allergy


We strongly encourage immunological societies & federations to participate in next year’s Day of Immunology on April 29, 2020!